Nathaniel Hawthorne

Dark Tales (With Original Illustrations)

This carefully edited collection has been designed and formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices.
“I am afraid this ghost story will bear a very faded aspect when transferred to paper. Whatever effect it had on you, or whatever charm it retains in your memory, is, perhaps, to be attributed to the favorable circumstances under which it was originally told.” (The Ghost of Doctor Harris)
“The aspect of the venerable mansion has always affected me like a human countenance, bearing the traces not merely of outward storm and sunshine, but expressive also, of the long lapse of mortal life, and accompanying vicissitudes that have passed within.” (The House of the Seven Gables)
American novelist and short story writer Nathaniel Hawthorne's (1804–1864) writing centers on New England, many works featuring moral allegories with a Puritan inspiration. His fiction works are considered to be part of the Romantic movement and, more specifically, Dark romanticism. His themes often centre on the inherent evil and sin of humanity, and his works often have moral messages and deep psychological complexity.
Introduction: Biography of Nathaniel Hawthorne
The House of the Seven Gables (A Novel)
The Minister's Black Veil
The Hollow of the Three Hills
The White Old Maid
Dr. Heidegger's Experiment
The Birth-mark
Young Goodman Brown
Rappaccini's Daughter
Roger Malvin's Burial
The Artist of the Beautiful
John Inglefield's Thanksgiving
Wives of the Dead
An Old Woman's Tale
Antique Ring
Graves and Goblins
The Ghost of Doctor Harris
799 trykte sider
Oprindeligt udgivet



    Hvad synes du om bogen?

    Log ind eller tilmeld dig

På boghylderne

    My shelf
    • 32
Træk og slip dine filer (ikke mere end 5 ad gangen)